I’m writing a review on my own project. It’s not the way I presented it really, but the topic I ended up with that I thought was awesome. I had a nutrition term paper and presentation to do, and I picked nutrition for toddlers. I figured since I have a toddler aged child, it would be an interesting topic. I found quite a bit of information that shocked the hell out of me.

The class was given complete creative control over presentations. We were told to pick whatever nutrition related topic we wanted. I wanted to do nutritional disorders, but what I ended up finding was a lot of info on eating disorders. I was totally amazed at the things I found doing research. Children as young as 4 can start to develop emotional issues that contribute to their eating habits.

What I put together was a power point, a handout with some info on the two disorders I focused on, and snacks :-). I had some info about basic nutritional needs, the disorders, and tips on handling picky eaters. I used some pictures of my own son, and the snack I had people make was ants on a log. If you’ve never had it, it consists of celery, peanut butter and raisins. That’s a hell of a lot better than bacon mac and cheese pie, or going to mc donalds all the time.

As for the project itself, I absolutely loved it. We had people do presentations on fad diets, being vegan, child hood obesity, heart disease, and a number of other things. The one that really stood out was on an eye disease, and I can’t for the life of me remember what it’s called. This should definitely stay part of the class. Everyone learned a lot today, me included.

 

Leave a Reply

